Musicians in the UK have raised concerns about the impact of Brexit on touring musicians, particularly regarding the potentially costly fees related to a visa or work permit required to tour the European Union. On Wednesday 4th August, the UK’s Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport announced that 19 countries in the European Union allow short-term visa-free travel.

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden have confirmed their participation in the directive. The UK government added that Spain, Croatia, Greece, Portugal, Bulgaria, Romania, Malta and Cyprus have taken formal steps to also waive visa requirements.

Read more about the current state of touring by British artists in Pitchfork’s breakdown “The Brexit Touring Crisis: What’s Happened and What’s Next for UK Musicians”.