Danny Elfman has announced Big Mess, the composer’s first solo studio album without a soundtrack since 1984. The 18-track album contains the comeback song “Happy” as well as “Sorry”, “Love in the Time of Covid” and “Kick me.” . ” Elfman announced the album and has shared another song called “True,” which comes with a thoroughly creepy music video directed by Sarah Sitkin. “The video is an exploration of broken identity, muffled through the lens of memory,” Sitkin said in a statement. “Danny is a central figure in the video, but only in his reproduced resemblance to prostheses, masks and 3D-printed body parts. I wanted to make a video that was grainy, unpolished, and uncomfortable. “Find” True “below.

Big Mess will be released on June 11th via ANTI- and Epitaph. According to a press release, Elfman made the album while quarantined in 2020. Big Mess contributors include drummer Josh Freese, bassist Stu Brooks, and guitarists Stu Brooks and Nili Brosh.

Read about Danny Elfman’s Batman soundtrack in Pitchforks’ The 50 Best Film Music of All Time.

All products presented on Pitchfork are selected independently by our editors. However, if you purchase something through our retail links, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Big chaos::

01 sorry
02 Right
03 In time
04 Everyone loves you
05 Dance with the lemurs
06 Serious reason
07 Choose your side
08 We belong
09 Happy
10 Just human
11 devil take away
12 love in the time of Covid
13 Native Intelligence
14 Better times
15 Cruel Compensation
16 kick me
17 Overcome it
18 insects