Hitaus Kaiyote have announced their next album Mood Valiant. It arrives on June 25th via Brainfeeder / Ninja Tune and is spearheaded by a new single called “Get Sun” starring legendary Brazilian composer / arranger Arthur Verocai. Listen to this below. Also check out the full track listing and cover for Mood Valiant.

Mood Valiant is Hiatus Kaiyote’s first new album since Choose Your Weapon 2015. Songs from this album have been sampled by Kendrick Lamar, Drake and Chance the Rapper, among others. The album also features Hiatus Kaiyote’s first new music since front woman Nai Palm was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2018, an ordeal she describes as a perspective-shifting experience for the band.

“If you think your life is being stolen from you, think about who you are,” Nai Palm said in a press release. “I think after fear of breast cancer, I decided I had to prove to life that the offer I have is real. My only wish is to live and offer my experience of time and beauty. “

All products presented on Pitchfork are selected independently by our editors. However, if you buy something through our retail links, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Hiatus Kaiyote: brave mood

Mood brave::

01 Flight of the tiger lily
02 Slip into something soft
03 Chivalry is not dead
04 And we go gently
05 Get some sun [ft. Arthur Verocai]
06 All the words we don’t say
07 Hush rattle
08 rose water
09 Red room
10 Sparkle Tape Break Up
11 stone or lavender
12 blood and marrow