One month after the announcement of their new Bachelor project, Melina Duterte from Jay Som and Ellen Kempner from Palehound released their debut album under the name Doomin ‘Sun and will be released on polyvinyl on May 28th. Today (March 24th) Bachelor released their latest single, Stay in the Car, along with a music video filmed and edited by Haoyan of America. Check out the below and scroll down to see the album art and track list.

“I wrote the lyrics for ‘Stay in the Car’ in December 2019 when I was in Florida to perform my partner’s top surgery,” said Kempner in a press release. “I went out one afternoon after surgery while he was taking care of lunch for us, and when I was collecting my things in the parking lot, a big car stopped and this absolutely beautiful woman got out. She was dressed all in red, full of jewelry, and had the wildest fiery mane I had ever seen. She yelled at the man behind the wheel and asked him what he wanted from the store, and I wish I was that man. I wanted to be a part of her life, her best friend, her driver, whatever she wanted me to be. I was totally fascinated. “

Duterte added, “We wanted this song to be a visceral listening experience that was inspired by the Pixies and the Breeders. For the music video, we worked on a two-day shoot with Haoyan of America in Poughkeepsie in extremely cold weather. We all worked together to ensure that our friendship was portrayed in a fun and stylish way. Haoyan has captured this energy in his own unique and creative lens through his collection of 80s / 90s / 00s props and toys, CGI and everything related to cars. “

Doomin ‘Sun was written and recorded over a two-week period in Topanga, California, January 2020. The album includes collaborations with greats like Buck Meek and James Krivchenia from Big Thief and Duterte’s partner Annie Truscott from Chastity Belt.

Revisit Pitchfork’s 2017 Rising interview, Jay Som’s Hard Working Dream Pop.

Doomin ‘Sun.::

01 back of hand
02 Sand Angel
03 Stay in the car
04 Dated without you
05 Spin Out
06 Everything at all
07 moon
08 sick of the spiral
09 Aurora
10 Doomin ‘Sun.