The 43rd annual Kennedy Center Honors recipients have been announced. Joan Baez, Garth Brooks, Dick Van Dyke, artist, choreographer and actress Debbie Allen and the violinist Midori are the winners for 2020. Last year’s ceremony usually took place in December and was due to the COVID-19 pandemic on May Postponed in 2021.

“The Kennedy Center Honors serve as a moment to celebrate the remarkable artists who have spent their lives improving the cultural history of our nation and world,” said David M. Rubenstein, chairman of the Kennedy Center, in a press release. “Folk icon Joan Baez breathed new life into the genre and made rock music turn to social and political consciousness,” added the singer, songwriter and Rock Hall alum.

The Kennedy Center will host small face-to-face events across its campus, each with a physically distant audience. The events will include performances and honors for the award winners. A series of virtual events will also begin on May 17, while the Kennedy Center will host a medallion ceremony for the award winners and a limited audience during the week of May 17-22.

Read more about Joan Baez in “A Rock Hall Voter Breaks the Most Epic Nomination Class in Decades” on the square.