Laura Marling and Mike Lindsay von Tunng founded LUMP in 2018 and released their self-titled debut album. Today they announced the second LUMP album Animal, which will be led by the title track. Check out the “Animal” video below.

The animal is out on July 30th (via Partisan / Chrysalis). Marling was working on the album when he was doing the song for Our Daughter last year. “LUMP is the repository for so many things that I had in mind that just don’t fit anywhere,” she said in a press release. “They don’t have to make narrative sense, but strangely enough, they make narrative sense in some way.”

All products presented on Pitchfork are selected independently by our editors. However, if you purchase something through our retail links, we may receive an affiliate commission.


01 bloom at night
02 gamma ray
03 animal
04 Climb any wall
05 red snakes
06 paradise
07 hair on the pillow
08 We can’t resist
09 Oberon
10 phantom limb