The Mercury Prize for Best British Album of the Year has announced its shortlist for 2021. The joint album Promises by Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders and the London Symphony Orchestra received a nomination, as did records by Nubya Garcia, Sault, former winners Wolf Alice, Berwyn, Laura Mvula and Black Country, New Road. Check out the full list below. The ceremony will take place on September 9th at Hammersmith Apollo, London.

This year’s funding period runs from July 18, 2020 to July 16 of this year. A jury of British music critics and industry experts will evaluate the records. Last year Dave won the Mercury Prize for his LP Psychodrama. Dave’s record hit the 1975 albums, Slowthai, Black Midi, Nao, Little Simz, and others.

Last year’s winner was Michael Kiwanuka, who beat nominees like Charli XCX, Dua Lipa, and Laura Marling. Past winners include Sampha, James Blake, PJ Harvey, Pulp, Portishead, and others.

Shortlist for the Hyundai Mercury Prize 2021:

Arlo Parks – Collapsed in the rays of the sun
Black land, new road – for the first time
Celeste – Not your muse
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promise
Ghettos – Conflict of Interest
Hannah Peel – Fir Wave
Laura Mvula – Pink Noise
Mogwai – How love goes on
Nubya Garcia – SOURCE
SAULT – Untitled (ascent)
Wolf Alice – Blue Weekend