Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have announced the second edition of B-Sides and Rarities 16 years after the first edition. B-Sides and Rarities Part II will be released on October 22nd on vinyl, CD and digital and contains 27 tracks from the years 2005 to 2020. With the announcement comes the rarity “Vortex”, recorded in 2006 by Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn Casey and Jim Sclavunos. It wasn’t released at the time, according to a press release, because they couldn’t decide whether to call it Grinderman or Bad Seeds.

In a press release, Cave wrote:

I’ve always liked the original B-Sides & Rarities more than any of our other albums. It’s the only one I like to listen to. It seems more relaxed, even a bit nonsensical in places, but with some nice songs throughout. There is also something about the smallness of certain songs that are closer to their original spirit.

B-Sides & Rarities Part II continues this strange and beautiful collection of lost Bad Seeds songs. I love the last page of the last record because it reveals the small and fragile beginnings of some of my favorite Bad Seeds songs. “Waiting for You” complete with a bizarre “Canning Factory” rhythm track, a beautiful “Life Per Se” that seems too sad for Skeleton Tree, and “Earthlings” which some consider the best track of the Ghosteen sessions.

Parts one and two of B-Sides and Rarities will also receive a limited release as a seven vinyl, 83-track box set with new cover notes.

B-sides & rarities part II:

01 Hey Little Fire Squad
02 Fleeting love
03 Accidents will happen
04 Free to Walk (with Debbie Harry)
05 avalanche
06 vortex
07 Needle Boy
08 lightning
09 Tier X
10 Give us a kiss
11 Push The Sky Away (Live with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra)
12 First skeleton tree
13 King-Size Nick Cave Blues
14 opium eyes
15 big dream (with sky)
16 instrumental # 33
17 Hell Villanelle
18 euthanasia
19 life in itself
20 Steve McQueen
21 first light horses
22 First girl in amber
23 glaciers
24 heart that kills you
25 The first wait for you
26 Sudden song
27 Earthlings