Legendary composer Ryuichi Sakamoto revealed the details for his soundtrack to Minamata, director Andrew Levitas’ film about war photographer W. Eugene Smith. The album will be released on July 30th via Milan Records. Minamata (Original Motion Picutre Soundtrack) includes Sakamoto’s score and “One Single Voice” performed by Welsh mezzo-soprano Katherine Jenkins. Listen to the Minamata Piano Theme album opening below.

Levitas wrote liner notes for the 2xLP edition of the Minamata soundtrack. “Ryuichi was my dream partner – he would be in any movie – but especially on this mission there couldn’t be anyone else,” the director said in a statement. “The music had to represent both the absolute best and the worst of humanity in the truest sense of the word. In my opinion, Ryuichi was able to ride this razor blade elegantly and fully implement this concept. “

Following his Minamata soundtrack, Ryuichi Sakamoto will release his soundtrack for the new Netflix movie Beckett on August 13th (via Milan Records). The album will contain the song by Devonté Hynes from the film “Born to Be”.

Minamata (Original Motion Picutre Soundtrack):

01 Minamata piano theme
02 In Japan
03 landscape
04 The boy
05 Chisso Co
06 boy and camera
07 Hidden data
08 demolition
09 Rally and persuasion
10 meetings
11 Offer
12 commitment
13 fire
14 parts
15 Get up
16 Chisso Gate
17 arsonists
18 suicide
19 mother and child
20 coda
21 symbol
22 One Voice (by Katherine Jenkins)