The Black Keys detailed their album with the blues standards of the Mississippi Hill Country: Delta Kream will be out on May 14 via Nonesuch. The record begins with the duo version of “Crawling Kingsnake,” a song credited to Big Joe Williams and popularized by John Lee Hooker and producer Bernard Besman.

Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney recorded their follow-up “Let’s Rock” in Auerbach’s Nashville studio Easy Eye Sound. The duo made Delta Kream with musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton. “It was a very inspiring session with Pat and I, along with Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton in the circle playing these songs,” noted Auerbach in a press release. “It felt so natural.”

Carney added, “The session was only scheduled days in advance and there was no rehearsal. We recorded the entire album in about 10 hours over two afternoons at the end of the Let’s Rock tour. “

Read Pitchfork’s Sunday Review of John Lee Hooker’s “It Serves You The Right To Suffer.”

All products presented on Pitchfork are selected independently by our editors. However, if you purchase something through our retail links, we may receive an affiliate commission.

The black keys: Delta Kream

Delta Kream::

01 Crawling king snake
02 Louise
03 Poor boy far from home
04 Stay all night
05 Go south
06 Coal Black Mattie
07 Do the romp
08 Sad days, lonely nights
09 go with me
10 mild peaches
11 Come and go with me