Light in the Attic announced May the Circle Remain Unbroken: A Tribute to Roky Erickson, a new compilation album that features cover versions of the late psych-rock pioneer songs recorded by various artists. Contributors include Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, Margo Price, Neko Case, Ty Segall, Gary Clark Jr. and Eve Monsees, Lucinda Williams and Chelsea Wolfe. The album will be released on July 17th as an exclusive vinyl release on Record Store Day. There will also be a bonus RSD-only Flexi-Disc that includes a previously unreleased Erickson track called “Love Heiroglyphics,” which was recorded in the 1970s. A CD version of the new tribute album will be released later this year. Check out the cover and track list below.

The album, approved by the Erickson estate, was produced by Bill Bentley, who previously directed the 1990 Erickson tribute album Where the Pyramid Meets the Eye. Last year, 13th Floor Elevators: A Visual History, a book that records the group’s history, was released.

Read an excerpt from 13th Floor Elevators: A Visual Story on the Field and read Never Say Goodbye Sunday’s report.

May the circle remain unbroken: A tribute to Roky Erickson::

01 Billy F Gibbons: “(I have) levitation”
02 Mosshart Sexton: “Star Eyes”
03 Jeff Tweedy: “For you (I would do anything)”
04 Lyyn Castle / Mark Lanegan: “A clear night for love”
05 The black angels: “Don’t fall down”
06 Neko case: “Be and take me home”
07 Margo Prize: “Red Temple Prayer (two-headed dog)”
08 Gary Clark Jr. / Eve Monsees: “Roller Coaster”
09 Ty Segall: “Night of the Vampire”
10 Lucinda Williams: “You will miss me”
11 Chelsea Wolfe: “If You Have Ghosts”
12 Brogan Bentley: “May the circle remain unbroken”